Quizzicalities

Leave a comment

April 10, 2015 by T. Gregory Argall

I make it appear relatively seamless, but every week, as Friday approaches, my search for a blog-worthy topic becomes more desperate until, out of nowhere, inspiration strikes. Sometimes, that actually works.

I wasn’t so lucky this week and so I found myself addressing that modern Oracle of Delphi, Google. I actually searched online with the phrase “What should I blog about” and I was rewarded with about 65,700,000 results in 0.35 seconds (or so Google claims).

The first few results were links to quizzes to help me define what kind of blogger I am. These quizzes seem to have been designed by people who view blogging as a competitive sport. In the world of full-contact bloodsport bloggery, I am apparently Snarky Blogger. At least that’s what one quiz told me. This accolade was followed by a short paragraph claiming that other bloggers are jealous of me because of my acid-tongued blogging style, that I cut directly to the core of whatever I’m blogging about, that my blogshakes bring all the boys to the yard, and that there ain’t no party like a snarky blog party ’cause a snarky blog party don’t stop.
Or something like that.

I have my doubts.

Another quiz with the title “What Should Your Blog Be About?” seemed to be exactly what I was looking for. That hope quickly evaporated. The quiz consisted of four multiple-choice questions, one of which was “What do you think of this quiz so far?” I dutifully made my four selections from the options provided and the quiz results declared that I should blog about “whats going on in the REAL world of punk, scene headings and layout updates about the emo artists and just have it LIVE!

Great.

And just to drive the point home, it was written in a nearly-indecipherable font, like this…
untitled

I’m forty-mumble years old. I remember Punk from the first time around and I know it has absolutely nothing to do with scene headings and layout updates. And the only Emo I know is a brilliantly quirky comedian with a bad haircut.

From those quizzes I sort of stumbled down the rabbit hole that is the Internet and found myself answering a random series of unrelated quizzes and throwing away a good portion of my day. Amongst the quizzes I submitted myself to were, “Which Boyleyn sister are you?” (Mary), “How many fingers do you have?” (Twelve), and “Which character from ‘The Lords of Flatbush’ are you?” (Wedding Guest #4 — Armand Assante for the win!).

Eventually I realized I’d spent so much time on pointless internet personality quizzes that I’d neglected to actually write a blog post. But, hey, if you were me you would probably have done the same thing.

Wait a second. Maybe you are me. Are you? Are you me?

There’s probably a quiz for that.

Yep. Found it. T. Gregory Argall’s “Are You Me?” Quiz. Take the quiz and post your results in the comments section if you want. You can even share your results on Facebook and Twitter and maybe even Instagram or Pinterest, I don’t know.

Whether you are me or you, try to be nice to each other.

tga

Leave a Reply

