Sing With Me

Leave a comment

January 2, 2015 by T. Gregory Argall

Many years ago I wrote a silly little song and lately it’s been playing in my head again. Not willing to suffer alone, I’ve decided to share the song here with all of you. So, for those of you that have not yet heard it, here is “Granny’s Drunken Lullaby.”

 

Toora loora looral
Rah rah, siss boom bah
Ave Maria
Que sera sera

When I was but a wee baby, me granny liked to drink
She’d stare at me over her whiskey and say, “A lullaby, I think.”

She would start to sing me a bedtime song, but she’d get her merds wixed up
Then she’d say, “T’ hell with it all,” and pour another cup, singing,

“Toora loora looral
Rah rah, siss boom bah
Ave Maria
Que sera sera

“Rememb’rin’ words is for pussies. You only need carry a tune.
Until it no longer matters at all, for ye’ll be plastered soon.”

She’d take me wee pram for a toddle and waddle straight down to the pub
She’d prop me up on the bar for a lark and give me tummy a rub.

She’d offer to trade me for spirits. But the barman said, “Nay, not allowed.”
Then she’d make me dance a wee jig to get money, busking for the crowd, while she sang,

“Toora loora looral
Rah rah, siss boom bah
Ave Maria
Que sera sera

“Rememb’rin’ words is for pussies. You only need carry a tune.
Until it no longer matters at all, for ye’ll be plastered soon.”

Now the years have gone by and I’ve grown up and me granny, so sad, has passed on.
But we all raised a glass in her mem’ry and sang her this dear bedtime song.

“Toora loora looral
Rah rah, siss boom bah
Ave Maria
Que sera sera

“Rememb’rin’ words is for pussies. You only need carry a tune.
Until it no longer matters at all, for ye’ll be plastered soon.”

She sang, “Toora loora looral
Rah rah, siss boom bah
Ave Maria
Que sera sera.”

(spoken) G’night, Granny. We miss ye, ye wee drunken cow.

 

Thanks to William Poulin for the inspiration and concept.

Try to be nice to each other. For Granny.

tga

Leave a Reply

