Aliens and Photoshop and Supervillains, Oh My

Leave a comment

September 19, 2014 by T. Gregory Argall

There is a scene in Ridley Scott’s 1979 sci-fi scare-fest Alien where the crew breakfast is interrupted by a baby alien bursting out of John Hurt’s chest. I can see how that would ruin a meal. The term “chest-burster” was derived specifically to describe the creature in this scene.

The scene became so iconic that Mel Brooks made a joke about it in Space Balls and actually got John Hurt to join in.

However (and not many people realize this) it was not real.
Seriously, it was faked. All these years later, John Hurt’s chest is still relatively intact.
Here’s a video showing how it was done.

Many years ago when I was teaching myself how to use Photoshop, I took inspiration from that scene and developed a self-imposed tutorial. The goal was to used Photoshop in non-traditional ways and so I spent an afternoon creating images of chest-burster alien babies erupting from Hanna-Barbera cartoon characters.

Jetson - Alien

Hong-Kong-Phooey

El Kabong and Snagglepuss - Alien

Space Ghost

Yogi Bear - Alien

Flinstones - Alien

Pretty rudimentary stuff, huh?
But in the intervening time, messing around with Photoshop in ways not intended by the developers, I’ve managed to gain the skill and confidence to foolishly take on a major project, solely for my own amusement and yours.

I have an online webcomic called “All I Wanted To Do Was Take Over The World.” It tells the story of three aspiring supervillains who share an apartment.

This is a pre-dialogue page from Chapter Four, which will be posted on Tuesday.

photo (24)

Trust me, it’s even funnier when the words are added.

If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you’ve either developed some minor appreciation for the things that swirl around in my brain, or you enjoy the unique type of anger that the thought of me invokes in you. Either way, “All I Wanted To Do Was Take Over The World” will include many of the things that you enjoy or enjoy hating. Please check it out.
And if you are one who is inclined to such things, there is a FaceBook page just waiting for your LIKE at facebook.com/LighterSideOfEvil.

And also, as always, try to be nice to each other.

tga

 

 

Leave a Reply

