A Smidge of Midge

Leave a comment

June 13, 2014 by T. Gregory Argall

Hats off to those brave men and women of psychoacademia who try to decipher and understand the human subconscious, the birthplace of dreams.
Because, lemme tell ya, the subconscious is seriously messed up and twisted.

I had a dream the other night that said more about my subconscious than I really wanted to know. It wasn’t a nightmare. There were no monsters, no scary jolts, no falling off a cliff and jarring awake. It was just a dream about walking in on the middle of a conversation.

In this dream, I was meeting some people. I have no idea who they were, but dream-me was perfectly fine with going to meet them. There were four of them and they were sitting at a table when I arrived. As I came around a corner to approach the group, the person with his back to me (who may or may not also have been me, although I was walking towards him, but dreams are weird) said something in response to a conversation that was obviously already well under way.
He said, “Oh, so that’s the collective term for thousands of Midge Ure fans.”
I, having just arrived at this point, apparently felt compelled to add my thoughts on the issue without any context whatsoever. In the dream I said, “I’m pretty sure the best word to describe ‘thousands of Midge Ure fans’ is ‘unlikey’.”

And my subconscious was ridiculously proud of that little quip. Not content to simply giggle at its own dreamy cleverness, my subconscious kicked me awake so that my conscious self could share in the proprietary chuckle at such wit.
My subconscious thinks it’s Oscar bloody Wilde.

Of course, then I couldn’t get back to sleep. I lay there, staring at the ceiling, my mind swirling with so many questions, not the least of which was, “What the Hell?”
Other questions included…

Why was my subconscious even thinking of a musician that I haven’t consciously thought of in years?

Why was my subconscious being so snarky to Midge Ure?

Why was I dreaming about entering the middle of a conversation?

What actually is the collective term for fans of Midge Ure? What do they call themselves?
Midgettes?
Ure-ins?
Nothing really seems appropriate. Or polite.

Later, after the sun was up, I checked Wikithing. They had no information on his collective nom-de-fan, but I did discover many other Ure factoids, some of which I already knew but had forgotten and others that I was learning for the first time.

Midge Ure toured and recorded with Thin Lizzy for a short while.

He was a member of Ultravox.

The video for his biggest hit, “If I Was” featured some awesome 80’s conservative fashion as well as some awesome 80’s dance moves.

 

He co-wrote the charity-hit “Do They Know It’s Christmas?” for Band Aid. (That line about snow in Africa? I’m pretty sure that was his.)

Of the two main organizers for Band Aid, Live Aid, and Live-8, he’s the one who isn’t Bob Geldof. (And you thought it was all Bob.)

His real name is Jim Ure.
His stage name is simply “Jim” spelled backwards.
And with different letters.

I can find no valid reason for my subconscious to be making snide remarks about him. In fact, he is still playing music and touring. He’ll be performing in various places in North America throughout August this year. Probably to thousands and thousands of people by the end.

Good on ya, Jimmy.

Meanwhile, I’ll be having a stern and serious talk with my subconscious about manners.

Speaking of which, try to be nice to each other. Even when you’re asleep.

tga

 

Leave a Reply

