Five Things I Learned In 2013

Leave a comment

December 13, 2013 by T. Gregory Argall

Another calendar year is coming to an end and completely unbidden, against all force of will, the mind invariably reflects on the past twelve months because time marches on and blah blah blah whatever.

Anyway, because nobody asked, here’s a list of five things I learned this year.

1/ I miss painting. At one time I dabbled in the visual arts. I allowed myself to get sort of sidetracked from that as other pursuits were, well, pursued. Those other pursuits have been quite satifying and profitable in a personal way, but I miss painting. I’ve decided to paint again. I’ll let you know if it sucks.

2/ Cats aren’t nearly as aerodynamic as they’d like you to think. (Don’t ask how I know that.)

3/ I’m a complicatedly simple jumble of contradictions and a paradox of hypocrisy. Lately I’ve found excuses to take a hard look at the kind of person I am. I recommend this activity to anyone and everyone. Take a good, objective look at yourself and how you affect your world. If you’re honest with what you find, it will make you a better person in general. Some of the improvements may be subtle and nearly unnoticeable but they will be improvements and everything happens in small stages.
In looking at myself I found that in many ways I am a good person, or at least I try to be. But in many other ways, I’m a bit of a bastard, not a good person at all.
But I’m working on.

4/ I have some wonderful, amazing, talented, generous, brilliant friends. Some are close and some are quite far away (geographically) but they are all worth the drive to go and visit.

5/ Apparently I only learned four significant things this year. Also, I suck at math.

tga

Leave a comment