Scam-Baiting At Work

Leave a comment

May 31, 2013 by T. Gregory Argall

When I’m not busy being fascinating and thoroughly entertaining for you, my day job is in the office of a limousine company. In that job, I’ve seen and learning many interesting and surprising things. For example, did you know that there is a sub-genre of email scams that specifically targets limousine companies?
It’s true.
Mainly, these cons are “masterminded” by people who don’t have the communication skills to portray a Nigerian prince. The initial hook is an inquiry about a potentially high-return limo job, but it eventually leads to a request from the “trip organiser” to add his other expenses to the credit card billing, so that his client will just have to make single payment for everything involved, not just the ground transportation. The extra money will then, of course, be sent to the “trip organiser” aka the “con man.”
It’s a rather thinly veiled scam and I’m surprised anyone ever falls for it.
But every once in a while, just to amuse myself, I’ll string one of these guys along.

The following is an email exchange from a few years ago. My boss made the first couple of replies regarding pricing and when it became obvious that the emails were being sent via bullcrap.com, I took over and had fun.
(The first email is addressed to undisclosed recipients, which means several addresses were plugged into the BCC box in the hopes that he’d get a bite. Later, the addresses provided are copied verbatum from a Google Maps search of my business address. Also, the airport he mentions is for small private aircraft and can’t accomodate international flights. I tried to coax the scammer into shifting his focus to ripping off a charity concert, but it seems he caught on and just stopped.)

From: xxxxxx@aol.com
Sent: Sunday, November 08, 2009 10:58 PM
To: undisclosed-recipients:
Subject: Limousine Reservation.
Hello,
My name is Kevin xxxxxxx CEO of Pleasures arena Leisures ,Our company Provides Travel & Leisure Services to Our Clients Worldwide .I would like to make a Limousine reservation for our client who will be visiting your country for a church conference from London,UK.Your service would be needed on the day of there arrival from the airport to the Hotel they would be Lodging and some places around .please find below the service you will be providing.
NUMBER OF GUESTS : 6
ARRIVAL DATE : 25th November 2009
CHARGE FOR AN HOUR
TOTAL CHARGES FOR 11 HOURS
So please get back to me as soon as possible with the total cost as required,so i can provide you with my credit card details for the total payment of the Service.I have viewed your website and it’s contents and would be happy if you don’t direct me back to your website.
Your Earliest Response Would Be Appreciated .
Keep In touch.
Regards ,
Kevin

~~~~~~~~~~

From: xxxxxx Limousine [mailto:info@xxxxxxlimousine.com]
To: xxxxxx@aol.com
Sent: Mon, Nov 9, 2009 4:50 am
Subject: RE: Limousine Reservation.

Hello Kevin
The hourly charge is $125.00 plus 5% GST and 10% gratuity, for a totally hourly charge of $143.75.
Please advise how to would like to proceed.
Regards,
xxxxxx Limousine Service Inc.

~~~~~~~~~~

From: xxxxxx@aol.com
Sent: Monday, November 09, 2009 3:57 PM
To: info@xxxxxxlimousine.com
Subject: RE: Limousine Reservation.
Hello xxxxxx,
Thank you for you response, I will be happy to book the Stretch Limousine for November 24th 10am to 9pm for the 6 pass. The pick up location is the Toronto Buttonville Airport-  and the drop off address is the Best Value Inn 650 Evans Ave, Toronto, Toronto Division, ON M8W, Canada,
NB:I will be needing a favor from you and will be happy if my favor is granted.
Kindly get back to me with the total cost of the 11hours service so that we can proceed further to payment
Regards
Thank You.

~~~~~~~~~~

From: xxxxxx Limousine <info@xxxxxxlimousine.com>
To: xxxxxx@aol.com
Sent: Mon, Nov 9, 2009 1:04 pm
Subject: RE: Limousine Reservation.
$1581.25 total for 11 hours.

~~~~~~~~~~

From: xxxxxx@aol.com
Sent: Monday, November 09, 2009 4:32 PM
To: info@xxxxxxlimousine.com
Subject: RE: Limousine Reservation.
Hello xxxxxx,
Its a pleasure reading back from you,I would do appreciate knowing if you are the owner of your company as i have a store here which i manage also,My clients will be happy if a good and friendly service is given to them.
I will want you to do me a favor and i will be highly greatful if my favor is been granted,I want you to help me charge an additional sum of $1000 from my creditcard including the total cost of the Limo Service for the date requested which is $1581.25 i could have paid my agent with my credit card but he told me he doesnt have a credit card facility to charge cards so please i will be needing your help to complete my clients flights fee and sent to my travelling agent.
I will be looking forward to work with you in a favorable manner.
Regards
Kevin

~~~~~~~~~~

From: xxxxxx Limousine [mailto:info@xxxxxxlimousine.com]
Sent: Monday, November 09, 2009 9:22 PM
To: xxxxxx@aol.com
Subject: RE: Limousine Reservation.
I fully understand your desire to pay your agent in the most expedient manner possible. Unfortunately, our billing system isn’t set up to process additional amounts along with a justified invoice amount.
Possibly your agent could be paid via cheque or money order.
Anyway, in order to confirm the details of your booking, please forward to us at your earliest convenience the anticipated stops on the 11 hour itinerary, along with the passenger’s name, the airline flight information for their arrival at TorontoButtonvilleAirport and the credit card to which the trip will be billed.
Regards,
T. Argall
Dispatcher, xxxxxx Limousine

~~~~~~~~~~

From: xxxxxx@aol.com
Sent: Wednesday, November 11, 2009 1:17 AM
To: info@xxxxxxlimousine.com
Subject: RE: Limousine Reservation.
Hello
I am happy hearing from you,But i will be very happy if my favor is granted cos my health problems are not letting me do alot of things.i am only doing this for my daughter and her maid and also dont mind compensating you with $200 if we can move on.
Regards
Kevin

~~~~~~~~~~

From: xxxxxx Limousine [mailto:info@xxxxxxlimousine.com]
Sent: Wednesday, November 11, 2009 3:25 PM
To: xxxxxx@aol.com
Subject: RE: Limousine Reservation.
Hello, Kevin;
I am very sorry, but the computer program used for our banking and billing doesn’t have an option for adding extra input/output amounts to standard invoices. Although I would dearly love to help you with your inter-billing matter, I simply can’t process it with the equipment we have.
I completely sympathize with your health problems as I am experiencing some health problems as well and have problems doing a lot of things. I have a neurological condition that causes spinal obstrification and degenerative fingerhooks. Fortunately my son has many musician friends and they are staging a benefit concert to raise money to help with research for a cure. Even though things may be difficult, I am blessed by the kindness and favors of others. Because of that, I truly wish I could help with a method of transferring payment to your agent. I am sorry.
But, on to the business at hand. In order to confirm the details of your booking, please forward at your earliest convenience the anticipated stops on the 11 hour itinerary, along with the passenger’s name, the airline flight information for their arrival at TorontoButtonvilleAirport and the credit card to which the trip will be billed.
Regards,
T. Argall
Dispatcher, xxxxxx Limousine

~~~~~

Sadly, that was the last I heard from Kevin the Scammer.
Okay, sure, this isn’t as impressive as a Nigerian re-enactment of Monty Python’s Parrot Sketch, but it amused me.
(But, if you have an hour to kill, follow that last link. It is definitely worth it.)

 

tga

 

 

Leave a Reply

